Ph.D. Advisors

Nisha D. Botchwey

Associate Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
nisha.botchwey@design.gatech.edu
(404) 385-6274

Expertise: healthy communities, community engagement, community development, neighborhood planning, health equity, experiential learning
 

William Drummond

Associate Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
Director, MS/GIST Program
bill.drummond@design.gatech.edu
(404) 894-9840

Expertise: climate change planning, geographic information systems, land conservation, population and employment projections
 

Michael Elliott

Associate Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
Director, MCRP Program
michael.elliott@design.gatech.edu
(404) 894-9841

Expertise: public policy dispute management, collaborative governance, sustainable communities; environmental planning and policy
 

Steven P. French

Dean and John Portman Chair, College of Design 
Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
steve.french@design.gatech.edu
(404) 894-3880

Expertise: sustainable urban development, geographic information system applications, earthquake and flood hazard analysis and mitigation, modeling urban development impacts
 

Subhro Guhathakurta

Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
Director, Center for Geographic Information Systems
subhro.guha@design.gatech.edu
(404) 385-0900

Expertise: modeling urban futures and their sustainability implications, geographic information and planning support systems, urban form and its implication for water, energy, and GHG emissions
 

Dan Immergluck

Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
dan.immergluck@design.gatech.edu
(404) 385-7214

Expertise: housing and community development, real estate finance and development, economic development
 

Alex Karner

Assistant Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
alex.karner@design.gatech.edu
(404) 385-5123

Expertise: transportation equity, environmental justice, public transit, regional planning, climate change and health

Anna Joo Kim

Assistant Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
anna.kim@design.gatech.edu
(404) 385-7215

Expertise: community and economic development, immigrant affairs, and labor markets
 

Nancey Green Leigh

Associate Dean for Research, College of Architecture
Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
ngleigh@design.gatech.edu
(404) 894-9839

Expertise: economic development planning, sustainable development, urban and regional theory, industrial restructuring, income inequality
 

Catherine Ross

Harry West Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
Director, Center for Quality Growth and Regional Development
catherine.ross@design.gatech.edu
(404) 385-5130

Expertise: transportation and infrastructure, land use and regional governance, healthy places, megaregions
 

Bruce Stiftel

Professor and Chair, School of City and Regional Planning
bruce.stiftel@design.gatech.edu
(404) 894-2350

Expertise: planning theory, negotiation and conflict resolution, citizen participation, natural resources and environmental planning, planning school advancement
 

Brian Stone, Jr.

Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
Director, PhD Program
stone@design.gatech.edu
(404) 894-6488

Expertise: environmental planning, transportation planning, urban design
 

Timothy F. Welch

Assistant Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
Assistant Director, Center for Quality Growth and Regional Development
tim.welch@design.gatech.edu
(404) 385-5144

Expertise: transport economics and forecasting, climate change policy and travel behavior, transportation-land use interactions, accessibility and equity issues in transportation, public transit systems, land use
 

Perry Pei-Ju Yang

Associate Professor, School of City and Regional Planning
Associate Professor, School of Architecture
perry.yang@design.gatech.edu
(404) 894-2076

Expertise: urban design, urban simulation and GIS, landscape ecology and industrial ecology for urban environments